Lots of pictures. enjoy.

Ok, so I have officially made my way to Italy and I have time to continue on with my story.  A while ago (let’s be honest, by this point it really doesn’t matter what day what happens as long as it’s slightly chronological) Jonas and I took the long way from the Louvre to the Arc de Triomphe.  It was a super long walk and we decided to make things even harder on ourselves by going up the over 200 steps to reach the top of the monument.  We also saw the Tuileries Garden and the Orangerie, along with Place de la Concorde.  I recommend that anyone going to Paris take this walk.  It may seem like a lot, but you miss so much by taking the metro, and if you’re at all used to walking it should not be a problem.  I am one of the most sedentary people I know and I only got tired after we climbed the stairs to go to the Arc de Triomphe, it probably goes without saying, but you have to pay to get a work out even in Paris.  I had to pay 5,50 to get to the top, while Jonas got in for free because he is part of the European Union.  Adults have to pay 9,00.  I can’t remember the prices of the Louvre or the Orangerie because I got in for free (students and people age 18-25 in the European Union get in to museums for free).  Here are some of the pictures I took:

Place de la Concorde

Security guard guarding some paintings. And by some paintings I mean the most beautiful works of art I have ever seen, Monet's Water Lilies.

My first gypsy! This woman came up to me and Jonas, asked if we spoke english, then busted out a postcard that basically said, my mom is dead...can I have money? So terrible.

Next to the Louvre and the Tuileries Garden there was this big fair...it had games, rides, and even fun houses!

Arc de Triomphe

The stairs going up to the top of the Arc de Triomphe.

The stairs were definitely worth it, the view from the top was amazing. Although, that silly Montparnasse building ruined the mood in almost all my pictures, if I wanted a sky scraper I would have gone to New York.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Lots of pictures. enjoy.

  1. Katie Guymon says:

    Beeeeeeeautiful pictures…. ah brought back so many memories….thanks so much for sharing! Where are you in Italy?

  2. James Broad says:

    Re your first gypsy:

    Gypsies are professional beggars. They do whatever they can to get sympathy, and your money. Many of them are also thieves. Stand clear. See my chapter 8. You’ll probably see them in Italy also.

  3. Evan Benson says:

    Hello!

    Tank you so much for sharing your story! Believe it or not, I was in Paris same time you were. I went August 21, 2010-August 28, 2010! It was my first time overseas and even in another country. I got so much done and accomplished over there its not even funny. I’m taking my sister to England in a month, and I’m surprising her with a trip to Paris for two days. I love Paris so much, so much history! When I was on my flight from London to Paris someone asked me, “Why do you visit Europe when you have so much that you haven’t seen in your own country.” I had to explain that the United States are only 200-300 years old when parts of Europe are thousands of years old! Anyways, Thanks for sharing! It was really cool too look at your photography as well! Good Luck with your adventures! Au Revior!

  4. Kris Kemp says:

    Hi Stephanie,
    I found this site through your dad’s website
    http://www.enjoy-europe.com/author.htm
    I’m taking a one way cruise to France, with some friends, a family.
    It’d be cool to hang out with you. Maybe you could show me around?
    Let me know! Add me as a Facebook friend: http://www.facebook.com/kris.kemp1
    thanks,
    Kris

    • Stephanie says:

      Hey! Unfortunately I was only in Paris over the summer for about a month and I’m back in the states right now. Have a blast though!! Being in Paris was definitely a life changing experience, I absolutely love it and can’t wait to go back. See as much as you can!! Especially Montmartre, it’s so beautiful.

Leave a Reply

